An open domain-driven platform for developing flexible e-health systems
About this Website | Wiki | Jira | CKM

Board of Governors


Professor Emeritus David Ingram (United Kingdom)

David Ingram is Emeritus Professor of Health Informatics at UCL, President of the openEHR Foundation and a Trustee of the OpenEyes Charity. He was appointed to the first Chair in Medical Informatics in the UK, in 1989, and went on to establish the UCL Centre for Health Informatics and Multiprofessional Education, in 1995, of which he was Director until his retirement in 2011.

David led the foundational health record architecture research of the GEHR Project, within the EU, starting in 1991. From this and subsequent projects and collaborations emerged the openEHR Foundation - of which he was Founding Chair from 2002-2012 - and principal contributions of CHIME colleagues towards the CEN and ISO 13606 standards.

Member since 2000; current chair.

Sam Heard MD, FRACGP, MRCGP, FACHI (Australia)

Sam Heard is a practicing clinician who has worked throughout his career in inner London (UK) and the Northern Territory (Australia) to assist the standardisation of health information to empower clinicians and their patients to improve health care and outcomes.

This work began with the Good European Health Record in the early 90s, continued through a long collaboration with Thomas Beale and CHIME at UCL, the establishment of Ocean Informatics as a commercial vehicle to assist in the vision and culminating in setting up the openEHR Foundation in London in 2002.

The work has continued as a Director of the openEHR Foundation, and CEO until 2012 and current board Chair of Ocean Health Systems. Sam was a foundation co-Chair of the HL7 EHR Technical Committee and has worked extensively with the UK and Australian national programs to utilise and refine the openEHR method.


Member since 2000.

Thomas Beale FBCS CITP (United Kingdom)

Thomas's academic background is in Electrical Engineering (communications) and Computer Science. His earlier professional work was in real-time distributed control (SCADA) systems for power, gas and mining; investment management and finance, and document and software configuration management systems.

After participating in the GEHR project in 1994 with Prof David Ingram's team at CHIME, UCL (UK), he worked since 1998 on EHR architectures, and participated in international standards work (OMG HDTF, HL7, CEN TC/251) for many years. He is one of the founders of the openEHR Foundation, and principal editor of the specifications. He designed the archetype formalism (ADL) and object model (AOM), now an ISO standard. He ran the Architecture Review Board 2005 - 2008.

He has published a number of papers in health informatics and has also presented widely on EHRs, e-Health and archetypes.

Member since October 2016.

Past Members

Bill Aylward MD, MA, MB, BChir, FRCS, FRCOphth (United Kingdom)

Dr Bill Aylward is a senior Vitreoretinal Surgeon at Moorfields Eye Hospital. He has published over 100 peer-reviewed papers, and 9 book chapters. He is the lead author of the highly regarded Video Atlas of Vitreoretinal Surgery.

before writing his MD thesis following two and a half years in Sydney working with Professor Frank Billson. He obtained further residency training at Moorfields, trained as a fellow with Peter Leaver in vitreoretinal surgery, and then with Don Gass in Medical Retina at the Bascom Palmer Eye Institute in Miami.

He has been a consultant at Moorfields since 1994, and was Medical Director from 2002 to 2010. He is Chairman of the Informatics and Audit Committee of the Royal College of Ophthalmologists, and a member of their Professional Standards Committee. He is an international board member for the American Society of Retinal Specialists, and is Vice president of the Club Jules Gonin. He was a founder member of Euretina, and served as President from 2009 to 2011. He is currently director of the OpenEyes collaborative development of a state of the art electronic patient record for ophthalmology.

Member 2013 - November 2018.


Contact Board of Governors

Acknowledgements: Atlassian (Jira, Confluence) | NoMagic (MagicDraw UML) | AsciiDoctor (publishing) | GitHub (DVCS) | LAMP dev community